BlogEd

Family, Faith & Fun

And he could sing

After Dad died last month, we posted a couple of his songs in our LOGOI.org emails (which, by the way, you really should sign up for).  I guess I naturally assumed everyone knew my Dad had a wonderful voice and could flat out sing.  In the early days of his ministry (back in the 60’s), he was known far more for his voice than for his preaching and teaching skills and was constantly on Spanish radio throughout Latin America.

I was a bit surprised then, how many people responded with a “I had no idea” reply…even from some grandkids.  So, I thought it would be fun to include a song here beginning with one my all-time favorites: a duet I sang with Dad when I was 9 or 10 years old called, “God Spoke.”

Dad got a lot of use from this duet and we sang it frequently. He knew it wouldn’t be long until I could no longer hit those high notes.  As you listen, you’ll appreciate why this, and so many of the other roughly 150 songs Dad recorded over the years, are so special to me now.  I miss him very much.

I pulled this song off an old LP so you get to be reminded of what pre-digitized music sounded like.

Forever!

God Spoke

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “And he could sing

  1. grammamargaret on said:

    I’m so glad you put “God Spoke” on your blog. It’s my fav of all the Thompson recordings. I love your blogs.

Leave a Reply

