BlogEd

Family, Faith & Fun

The Good Samaritan Strikes Again

missed bus

So here’s the story.  I was driving to work and noticed a big city bus pulling away from a bus stop while a middle-aged lady with a large bag in her hand ran frantically behind trying to get the bus to stop.  The lady was obviously upset and I couldn’t help but feel mildly irritated that the bus driver so callously drove away.

I pulled off to the side of the road and as non-creepily as possible, told her I’d help her catch her bus by driving her to the next stop.  She was a bit wary of course, but then seemed relieved as she got into my pickup truck. “Let’s go catch your bus,” I said with a macho flair, quite pleased with myself and my Good Samaritan intentions.

Stomping on the accelerator, we took off with a jolt for the next bus stop.  Ignoring most traffic laws we darted between cars and other obstacles and arrived at the bus stop just as the big bus was slowing to a stop.  My passenger gave me a grateful smile.  Then suddenly, the bus picked up speed and took off down the road.  All I could assume was that the bus driver hit the gas after determining there was no one to drop off and no one waiting to be picked up.

My attitude changed from mild irritation to slightly miffed.  “What’s with this bus driver?” I said to my anxious passenger as I once again stomped on the gas.  Her eyes widened as we lurched forward.

In moments, we had closed the gap until I was directly behind the bus. To get the bus drivers attention, I began honking my horn and flashing my lights like an emergency EMT ambulance.  Inexplicably, this caused the bus to actually pick up speed.  I upgrade my “slightly miffed” to a full “miff” and angrily stomped on the gas.

A tiny break in traffic enabled me to cut off a little wimpy “Mr. Bean” French car and I pulled up beside the bus so that my passenger and I could yell at the bus driver through closed windows.  As we yelled and flailed our arms, I couldn’t help but notice that for some reason, the lady bus driver appeared frightened out of her mind.

Rather than slow down, however, the lady bus driver hit the gas and barreled ahead. I quickly upgraded my full miff to “extremely miffed” and said, “There’s no way that bus is going to arrive at the next stop before us.” I abandoned all traffic laws and tore down the road in search of the next bus stop.  My wide eyed passenger let out a small gasp and clutched the dashboard.

We arrived a full 15 seconds before the bus and screeched to a halt in front of a handful of startled passengers in waiting.  With surprising agility, my passenger bailed out of my pickup truck almost before I came to a complete stop.  Her eyes were about the same size as my steering wheel as she stood there glaring at me, softly hyperventilating.

As I slowly drove off while my passenger continued to glare at me, I realized that in all her relief and excitement to reach the bus stop,  words had simply failed her regarding saying, “thank you.”   But of course, we Good Samaritans aren’t looking for such adulations.  We’re just glad to help.

###

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

